A Hat for Rasha: Reply worth posting – Clarifications

Here is a reply to the post:  http://wp.me/p8f30-ym

Thanks for sharing my post! I’m happy you liked it so much.

You are right, I didn’t say anything about the steaming at all – clearly too excited about the block. It was steamed as normal, just as you would on a wooden or buckram block. No problem to hold the block with the felt right up to the steam. I think the polystyrene may have added protection from the cling film wrapped over it as well (another step I neglected to mention – I may amend the post to include these points). I can’t say yet from my own experience how the block would stand up to making many multiples of a hat, but this little block has a few hats in it yet so it’s a very affordable way to make one-offs or small runs. Also, for pinning I used long glass-headed dressmaking pins, rather than the short milliner’s blocking pins, as these just fall right out of the polystyrene. I hope that is useful!

And here is my reply:  Thank you so much. This helps. I have even used a toilet paper roll as a hat form. I wrapped it in a plastic shopping bag. I get it. http://www.sew-and-so.com

Leave a Reply

